Photograph Credit score: IANS

IANS Dwell

New Delhi, November 22 (IANS) | Forward of the December 10 elections within the Indian Olympic Affiliation (IOA), the race amongst senior BJP leaders for the highest publish has intensified.

Whereas Assam chief minister and Badminton Affiliation of India (BAI) president Himanta Biswa Sarma is among the potential candidates for the publish of IOA president, there are different BJP leaders within the electoral faculty, together with wrestling federation president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh. of India (WFI); Arjun Munda of the Archery Affiliation; All India Soccer Federation (AIFF) President Kalyan Choubey; and Anil Jain, president of the All India Tennis Affiliation (AITA), to call just a few.

It’s believed that there could possibly be a combat between Sarma and Munda for the highest publish. Nonetheless, there are nonetheless just a few days left and issues can change in a single day, as seen within the historical past of the IOA.

One other massive identify to do the rounds is Olympian and Athletics Federation of India president, Adele Sumirwala, who was elected by a majority of IOA members as appearing president after Narinder Batra stepped down. Sumariwalla is predicted to get the identical help this time as nicely.

Earlier, there have been experiences that former badminton participant Pullela Gopichand may additionally turn into the subsequent IOA chief, however his identify didn’t determine within the Electoral School, placing all speculations to relaxation.

On Monday, the returning officer of the IOA elections, Umesh Sinha, launched the names of 33 nationwide sports activities federations and their 66 legitimate members (one male and one feminine every), eight sportspersons of excellent advantage (SOM), one Worldwide Olympic Committee. member and two representatives of the Athletes’ Fee.

The variety of individuals eligible to vote is 77 (39 ladies and 38 males) and so they can file nominations for varied positions within the Govt Council, together with the President.

Nominations should be filed between November 25 and 27.


Replace: 22-Nov-2022

Supply hyperlink